## Illinois State University Alumni Association Annual Membership Meeting June 22, 2019 Illinois State University Alumni Center

**Alumni Association Mission:** To support the University through the knowledge, skills, financial resources, and loyalty of its alumni; to communicate and interpret the University's goals and achievements to others; and to promote a spirit of unity and loyalty among former students and friends.

## **Meeting Agenda**

1.	Call to Order	Doug Reeves
2.	Approval of Minutes	Steve Smith
3.	New Business	Doug Reeves
4.	President's Comments/Presentation of Gavel	Doug Reeves
5.	Acknowledgement of Outgoing Board Members	Doug Reeves
6.	Incoming President's Comments	Lisa Castleman
7.	Adjournment	Lisa Castlema

## Illinois State University Alumni Association Board of Directors Annual Meeting Minutes June 23, 2018 Illinois State University Alumni Center

Members Present: Kathy Bohn, Walter Brandon, Lisa Castleman, Fellicia Foster, Elizabeth Garcia, Ryan Gilbert, Michele Guadalupe, Dave Horstein, Jerry Kerber, Danny Mielneczek, Kathy Murdoch, Susan Nelson-Brown, Tim Pantaleone, Scott Preston, Stacy Ramsey, Doug Reeves, Kaci Rollings, Steve Smith, Alice Spann, Leah Walton, Ron Whitton, Mike Willis, Jerry Wright, and Megan Cain (SAC), Valerie Brown (SAC)

**Members Absent:** Tyler Clark, Maggie Im, Daniel Lopez Jr., Joe McGuire, Stacy Ramsey, Jen Wiebel, Linda Yap.

Alumni Staff Present: Kris Harding, Beth Theobald, Rachel Kobus, Lindsay Vahl

Guests Present: University Advancement Vice President Pat Vickerman,

8. **Call to Order**: President Michele Guadalupe called the meeting to order at 11.51 a.m.

#### 9. Approval of June 23, 2017 Annual Meeting Minutes (Lisa Castleman):

• The motion to approve the minutes from the June 18, 2016 annual meeting was made by Mike Willis and seconded by Scott Preston. The motion was passed with unanimous consent and no discussion.

#### 10. New Business (Michele Guadalupe):

- Michele Guadalupe explained the nomination process. Candidates can be nominated by someone or can be self nominated. The Board Development Committee then reviews all of the nominations and presents the slate of candidates for the Board of Directors approval.
- The slate board members were presented for approval and the candidates nominated are as follows: Walter Brandon Jr., Elizabeth Garcia, Susan Nelson-Brown, Marsha Reeves, and Leah Walton.
- Michele asked for nominations from the floor. Mike Willis nominated Reggie Summerrise.
- Doug Reeves elected to close the nominations and Jerry Wright seconded that nomination.
- Jerry Wright motioned to approve the slate of candidates as they were submitted and Danny Mielneczek seconded that motion. Mike Willis voted against closing the nominations and discussion was held on the nomination process.
- After much discussion, the slate of candidates was approved.
- The motion to accept the new Board of Directors slate was made by Scott Preston and seconded by Kathy Bohn. The motion was passed with unanimous consent and no discussion.
- Election of the Officers and Executive Committee Members: President-Doug Reeves, President Elect-Lisa Castleman, Secretary-Steve Smith, Past President-Michele Guadalupe

### 11. President's Comments/Presentation of Gavel (Michele Guadalupe):

• Michele thanked the Board and commented on her time as president. She is proud of the Illinois State University Alumni Association Board of Directors and its direction and actions.

#### 12. Acknowledgement of outgoing board members (Michele Guadalupe):

• The Board offers many thanks to outgoing directors Linda Yap, Bob Navarro, Maggie Im, Jen Wiebel, Jerry Wright, Kathy Murdoch, and Mike Willis for their years of service and dedication to this board.

## 13. Incoming President's Comments (Doug Reeves):

- Doug thanked Michele as outgoing president and all the outgoing directors.
- He is excited and enthusiastic to begin the upcoming year.
- **Adjournment (Doug Reeves):** The motion to adjourn was made by Kathy Murdoch and seconded by Mike Willis. Meeting was adjourned at 12:06 p.m.

# Illinois State University Alumni Association Executive Committee May 8, 2019

#### **Slate of Candidates**

The Board Development Committee of the Illinois State University Alumni Association has identified and is recommending the following candidates be elected to the Board of Directors, to fill officer roles and to serve as "At-Large" members to the Executive Committee.

### Returning Board of Director Candidates (with terms expiring June 30, 2022):

Lisa Castleman '96 Michele Guadalupe '01 David Horstein '08 Daniel Lopez '02 Douglass Reeves '69 Steve Smith '89, '93 Alice Spann '78

### New Board of Director Candidates (with terms expiring June 30, 2022):

Tim Griffin '93 Mary McMahon '12 Dakota Pawlicki '09 Nikita Richards '06, M.S. '15

#### Officer and "At Large" Executive Committee Candidates (for 2019-20):

President Lisa Castleman '96
Past President Douglass Reeves '69
Vice President/President Elect Steve Smith '89, M.S. '93

Secretary Dave Horstein '08

"At Large" members Liz Garcia '91, Ryan Gilbert'03, Leah Walton '88, M.S.

**'92** 

Any questions regarding this slate of candidates may be addressed to Michele Guadalupe, Board Development Chair Michele Guadalupe @gmail.com or 773-304-7290) or Kris Harding, Executive Director Alumni Engagement (klhardi@ilstu.edu or 309-438-7304).