Illinois State University Alumni Association

Board of Directors Annual Meeting
June 11, 2022
11:00 a.m.
Hybrid meeting

Alumni Association Mission: To support the University through the knowledge, skills, financial resources, and loyalty of its alumni; to communicate and interpret the University's goals and achievements to others; and to promote a spirit of unity and loyalty among former students and friends.

Karyn Aguirre, Lisa Castleman, Tyler Clark, Julia Durnell, Fellicia Foster, Tim Griffin, Dave Horstein, Daniel Jackson, Joe McGuire, Mary McMahon, Danny Mielneczek, Lutitia Mills, Susan Nelson-Brown, Dakota Pawlicki, Scott Preston, Stacy Ramsey, Nikita Richards, Matthew Rillie, Brent Scholl, JD Schurter, Stan Shingles, Steve Smith, Leah Walton

Absent: Christina Fontenelle, Liz Garcia, Alice Spann

Meeting Notes

1. Call to Order Dave Horstein

a. Horstein called the meeting to order at 11:09 a.m.

2. Approval of Minutes

Tim Griffin

- a. June 2021 Annual Meeting (Action)
 - **i.** Griffin moved to approve. McGuire seconded the motion. Motion passed unanimously.

3. New Business Dave Horstein

- **a.** Motion to suspend ISUAA Constitution Article VI, Section 1 *(on campus requirement for election of directors) made by Preston, seconded by Nelson-Brown. Passed unanimously.
- **b.** Motion to suspend ISUAA Constitution Article IV, Section 3 *(Board of Directors serve a three-year term and may be reelected to serve up to three additional three-year consecutive terms) made by Griffin, seconded by McGuire. Passed unanimously.
- c. Proposed Constitution Revisions
 - i. Communication timeline and proposed revisions.
 - ii. Approval of Constitution revisions with 2 changes. Section 3 "term of office" (1st sentence add "newly" in front of elected and Last sentence change to "their"). Motion made by Mielneczek, seconded by Nelson-Brown. Passed unanimously.
- **d.** Election of Board Members (Action)
 - i. Slate of returning Board Members (Steve Smith, Alice Spann, Nikita Richards, Dave Horstein) and proposed new Board Members (Sue Grant, Jenna Goldsmith, Toni

Wells) was presented. Mielneczek made a motion to approve, seconded by Griffin. Passed unanimously.

- e. Election of Officers and Executive Committee Members (Action)
 - Slate of candidates for Officers and Executive Board were presented: Officers Leah Walton (President), Dave Horstein (Past President), Tim Griffin (Vice President, President-Elect), Susan Nelson-Brown (Secretary)
 - ii. At Large Members to the Executive Committee Liz Garcia, Danny Mielneczek, Nikita Richards
 - i. Aguirre made a motion, seconded by Foster. Passed unanimously.

4. Acknowledgement of outgoing Board members

Dave Horstein

a. Outgoing Board members Castleman, Foster, McMahon and Pawlicki were recognized, and several gave parting remarks expressing their gratitude for being able to serve on the Board and wishing continued success for the future.

5. President's Comments/Presentation of Gavel

Dave Horstein

- **a.** Horstein shared reflections on his year as President.
- **b.** Kris Harding presented outgoing President Horstein with a glass statue.
- **c.** Horstein presented gavel to incoming President Walton with his good wishes for her time as President.

6. Incoming President's Comments

Leah Walton

a. Walton stated that her goal will be to "Connect". She wants this year to be spent getting alumni engaged! She remembers Steve Smith saying, "tap people on the shoulder" and asking them "will you help?" She plans to do both.

7. Adjournment

a. Griffin moved to adjourn. McGuire seconded the motion. Motion passed unanimously. Meeting concluded at 12:11 p.m.