Illinois State University Alumni Association Annual Membership Meeting

June 22, 2019

Minutes

Board Members Present: Kathryn Bohn, Walter Brandon, Jr., Tyler Clark, Fellicia Foster, Lisa Castleman, Liz Garcia, Ryan Gilbert, Michelle Guadalupe, Dave Horstein, Jerry Kerber, Daniel Lopez, Jr., Danny Mielneczek, Susan Nelson-Brown, Stacy Ramsey, Doug Reeves, Kaci Rollings, Steve Smith, Alice Spann, Leah Walton, Ron Whitton

Board Members Absent: Tim Pantaleone, Scott Preston, Marsha Reeves, Joe McGuire,

Incoming Board Members: Tim Griffin, Mary McMahon, Dakota Pawlicki, Nikita Richards

Alumni Engagement Staff Present: Kris Harding, Lauren Hardy, Beth Theobald

Guests Present: Jamie Southerland, Kaylin Richards,

Call to Order

Reeves (President) called the meeting to order at 11:30 a.m. at the Illinois State University Alumni Center. He welcomed incoming board members and guests.

Approval of Minutes

Smith (Secretary) indicated the minutes from the June 23, 2018 Annual Membership Meeting had been prepared and circulated. Reeves requested a motion to approve. Clark made the motion. Nelson-Brown seconded. Motion approved.

Election of Board Members

Guadalupe presented the following candidates recommended by the Board Development Committee for approval for a renewed term of service on the board:

- Lisa Castleman
- Michele Guadalupe
- David Horstein
- Daniel Lopez
- Douglas Reeves
- Steve Smith
- Alice Spann

In addition, the following alumni were recommended by the Board Development Committee for a first term of service on the board:

- Tim Griffin
- Mary McMahon
- Dakota Pawlicki
- Nikita Richards

Guadalupe requested a motion to approve the slate of new and renewed board member as presented. Rollings made the motion. Clark seconded the motion. The motion was approved.

Election of Officers and Executive Committee

Guadalupe presented the slate of officers recommended by the Board Development Committee to serve as Officers and members of the Executive Committee. These individuals included:

President: Lisa CastlemanPast President: Doug Reeves

• Vice President/President-Elect: Steve Smith

Secretary: Dave Horstein

• At-Large Members: Liz Garcia, Ryan Gilbert, Leah Walton

Guadalupe requested a motion to approve the slate of Officers and Executive Committee members as presented. Brandon made the motion. Bohn seconded the motion. The motion was approved.

President's Comments

Reeves reflected on highlights from the past year and shared his gratitude for the engagement and support of his fellow board members. Key accomplishments included revision of the constitution/bylaws; instituting enhancements to board development processes (including candidate and exit interviews); and working closely with staff on numerous events and meetings.

Acknowledgement of Outgoing Board Members

Reeves recognized and thanked the following board members for their many years of leadership and service to the ISU Alumni Board:

- Kathy Bohn
- Jerry Kerber
- Tim Pantaleone
- Kaci Rollings

Harding also thanked Reeves for his leadership and support during his year as president.

Reeves concluded the session by presenting the gavel to Lisa Castleman who shared her appreciation to Reeves for his service and shared gratitude to all for the opportunity to lead the alumni association in the year ahead.

Adjournment

Castleman requested a motion to adjourn. Bohn made the motion. Brandon seconded. The motion was approved. The meeting adjourned at 12:10 p.m.

Respectfully Submitted by Steve Smith, Board Secretary