Skip to main content

Board of Directors

The Illinois State University Alumni Association board of directors are the ambassadors, advocates, and advisors, serving to strengthen the University’s traditions, its future growth, and its networks of influence. Alumni Association directors commit to the following responsibilities:

  • Attendance and participation in up to four board meetings annually
  • Service on at least one Alumni Association Board committee
  • Regular participation in Illinois State University events or programs
  • Advocacy for Illinois State University and promotion of school spirit
  • Annual giving to Illinois State University and the Alumni Association Scholarship

Become a Board Member

To be considered as a candidate for the 2025 Alumni Association board of directors election, please complete our board of directors application by February 21, 2025. Those completed after this date will be considered for the following year. Contact Alumni Engagement with questions and for more information.

Susan Nelson-Brown

Susan Nelson-Brown '78

Dallas, TX

Tim Griffin

Tim Griffin '93

Past President
Springfield, IL

Karyn L. Aguirre

Karyn L. Aguirre '86

Chicago, IL

Julia Durnell

Julia Durnell '19, M.S. '22

Bloomington, IL

Stan Shingles

Stan Shingles '82, M.S. '88

Mount Pleasant, MI

Danielle Brink

Danielle Brink '06

Lisle, IL

Breana Brown

Breana Brown '17

Normal, IL

Matt Coates

Matt Coates '11

Normal, IL

Marcos Fernandez

Marcos Fernandez '80

Lafayette, IN

Jay Groves

Jay Groves '80, M.S. '83

Bloomington, IL

Daniel Jackson

Daniel Jackson '18

Chicago, IL

Joe McGuire

Joe McGuire '77

Germantown Hills, IL

Lutitia Mills

Lutitia Mills '91

St. Louis, MO

Matthew Rillie

Matthew Rillie '15

Chicago, IL

Brent Scholl

Brent Scholl '81

Polo, IL

Steve Smith

Steve Smith '89, M.S. '93

Elk Grove Village, IL

Leah Walton

Leah Walton '88, M.S. '92

Westchester, IL

Toni Wells

Toni Wells '16

Oak Park, IL

Robert Navarro

Robert Navarro '91, M.S. '93, Ph.D. '02

Board of Trustees Alumni Board Liaison
Plainfield, IL